Anja Lehmann


E-G-G Administration

PR Consultant

Phone: +49 241 570 75180

Winners 2016

The E-G-G winners 2016

The Scientific Research Committee of the European Pain Federation EFIC® reviewed 70 applications submitted in the competition of the E-G-G 2016 program and judged six project proposals to be the best for funding. Global criteria for selection took into account the highest scores, but also other important aspects including excellence and diversity in terms of subjects, areas of research, originality and potential clinical impact.

The winners are:

  • Susanne BECKER, Mannheim, Germany
    Altered cognitive-emotional networks in chronic pain: the modulatory role of dopamine.
  • Piero CHIACCHIARETTA, Chieti, Italy
    Intersubject variability of brainstem modulation of the endogenous analgesia and phenotypical characterization of the nociceptive profile in humans. A cortical-brainstem connectivity study.
  • Joukje OOSTERMAN, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    Disentangling pain and fatigue: a clinical and neurocognitive approach. 
  • Max ORTIZ CATALAN, Gothenburg, Sweden
    Motor execution as a treatment for Phantom Limb Pain.
  • Roi TREISTER, Haifa, Israel
    Can training increase reporting accuracy and study power in human pain trials. 
  • Anne-Priscille TROUVIN, Paris, France
    Peripheral and central effects of TNF in inflammatory pain. Evolution of pain and conditioned pain modulation after anti-TNF therapies in rheumatoid arthritis. The RAPID study.

The prize winners were presented during the Opening Ceremony of the 10th Congress of the European Pain Federation EFIC®, taking place in Copenhagen, Denmark from 6 – 9th September 2017.

In addition, on the following day former E-G-G winners will have the opportunity to give insights into the results of their awarded projects at the Symposium “New Findings in Clinical Pain Research”.

For further information about the winners please visit

Additional information: